

15 September 2011

Item 1

# Membership of the Councillors' Forum

## **Purpose of report**

For decision.

## Summary

This report outlines the Membership, Terms of Reference and Meeting dates for the Local Government Group Councillors' Forum.

#### Recommendation

The Forum is asked to:

 formally note the membership and terms of reference for the LG Group Councillors' Forum

## **Action**

• Officers to take forward any actions as appropriate.

Contact officer: Cathy Boyle

**Position:** Member Support Manager

**Phone no:** 020 7664 3205

E-mail: cathy.boyle@local.gov.uk



15 September 2011

Item 1

# Membership of the Councillors' Forum 2011-12

This Forum comprises 100 members appointed by the LGA political groups in			
proportion to their political strength on the			
Representative	Authority		
0 (: 545)			
Conservative [45]	16 : 1 0.01 1 555		
Sir Merrick Cockell (Chairman)	Kensington & Chelsea RBC		
Gary Porter	South Holland DC		
Stephen Castle	Essex CC		
Keith Mitchell CBE	Oxfordshire CC		
Teresa O'Neill	Bexley Council		
Paul Bettison	Bracknell Forest BC		
Ken Taylor	Coventry City Council		
Andrew Lewer	Derbyshire CC		
Mike Jones	Cheshire West & Chester Council		
Rod Bluh	Swindon BC		
Frances Roden	Stroud DC		
Neil Clarke	Rushcliffe BC		
Rob Gordon DL	Hertfordshire CC		
Rob Light	Kirklees MBC		
David Simmonds	Hillingdon LBC		
David Parsons CBE	Leicestershire CC		
Shona Johnstone	Cambridgeshire CC		
Marco Cereste	Peterborough City Council		
Peter Fleming	Sevenoaks DC		
Les Lawrence	Birmingham City Council		
Roger Phillips	Herefordshire Council		
Andrew Bowles	Swale BC		
Brian Coleman	LFEPA / Greater London Authority		
Paul Findlow	Cheshire East Council		
Ken Hudson JP MBE	Preston City Council		
Kate Wild	Solihull MBC		
Martin Hill OBE	Lincolnshire CC		
Philip Atkins	Staffordshire CC		
Angus Campbell	Dorset CC		
Paul Carter	Kent CC		
Peter Martin	Essex CC		
Martin Tett	Buckinghamshire CC		
David Pugh	Isle of Wight Council		
Ken Thornber CBE	Hampshire CC		
Gordon Keymer CBE	Tandridge DC		
Clare Whelan	Lambeth LBC		



15 September 2011

## Item 1

Ken Maddock	Somerset CC		
Derrick Murphy	Norfolk CC		
Richard Stay	Central Bedfordshire Council		
Sir William Lawrence Bt	Stratford-upon-Avon DC		
Jeff Milburn	South Tyneside MBC		
Peter Goldsworthy	Chorley BC		
Geoffrey Theobald OBE	Brighton & Hove City Council		
Andrew Povey	Surrey CC		
Mark Bee	Waveney DC		
Labour [32] (plus sub pool)			
Steve Houghton CBE	Barnsley MBC		
Eion Watts	Bolsover DC		
Linda Thomas	Bolton MBC		
Ian Greenwood	Bradford MDC		
Helen Holland	Bristol City Council		
Ann Lucas	Coventry City Council		
David J Wilcox OBE	Derbyshire CC		
David H Sparks OBE	Dudley MBC		
Simon Henig	Durham CC		
Mayor Jules Pipe	Hackney LBC		
Claire Kober	Haringey LBC		
Caitlin Bisknell	High Peak BC		
Ruth Cadbury	Hounslow LBC		
Bryony Rudkin	Ipswich BC		
Mehboob Khan	Kirklees MBC		
Steve Reed	Lambeth LBC		
Keith Wakefield	Leeds City Council		
Sir Steve Bullock	Lewisham LBC		
Tim Moore	Liverpool City Council		
Richard Leese	Manchester City Council		
Judi Billing	North Hertfordshire DC		
Ian Swithenbank CBE	Northumberland Council		
Graham R Chapman	Nottingham City Council		
Jim McMahon	Oldham MBC		
John D Merry	Salford City Council		
Iain Malcolm	South Tyneside MBC		
Richard Williams	Southampton City Council		
Sharon Taylor	Stevenage BC		
Paul Watson	Sunderland City Council		
David Phillips	Swansea City Council		
Peter Box	Wakefield City Council		
Clyde Loakes	Waltham Forest LBC		
Roger Lawrence	Wolverhampton City Council		



15 September 2011

## Item 1

Michael Payne	Gedling Borough Council	
Robert Parker		
Catherine West	Lincolnshire County Council	
	Islington Council	
Rocky Gill	Barking & Dagenham LBC	
Liberal Democrat (16)		
Liz Green	Kingston upon Thames RBC	
Abigail Bell	Hull City Council	
Kath Pinnock	Kirklees MBC	
Duwayne Brooks	Lewisham LBC	
Jeremy Hilton	Gloucestershire CC	
Howard Sykes	Oldham MBC	
Roger Symonds	Bath & North East Somerset Council	
Jill Shortland OBE	Somerset CC	
Cathy Bakewell MBE	Somerset CC	
Stan Collins	South Lakeland DC	
Lord Graham Tope CBE	Sutton LBC	
Liz Tucker	Worcester CC	
Keith House	Hampshire CC	
Richard Kemp OBE	Liverpool City Council	
David Neighbour	Hart DC	
Alan Connett	Teignbridge DC	
Substitutes		
Keith Whitmore	Manchester City Council	
Stephen Knight	Richmond upon Thames LBC	
Terry Stacy MBE JP	Islington Council	
Chris White	Hertfordshire CC	
David Rogers OBE	East Sussex CC	
Mayor Dorothy Thornhill MBE	Watford BC	
Edward Lord OBE JP	City of London Corporation	
Sian Reid	Cambridge City Council	
Hilary Jones	Derby City Council	
Independent [7]		
Peter Jones	Babergh DC	
Roger Dennison	Lancaster City Council	
Marianne Overton	Lincolnshire CC	
Apu Bagchi	Bedford Council	
Julian German	Cornwall Council	
Alan Seldon	Herefordshire Council	
Bob Dutton OBE	Wrexham County BC	
Substitute		
Norman Murphy	Scarborough DC	



15 September 2011

Item 1

# LG Group Councillors' Forum Terms of Reference

- 1. The purpose of the LG Group Councillors' Forum is to provide an effective means of holding the LG Group to account by:
  - 1.1 Considering the monthly Chief Executives Report outlining Group activity and achievements;
  - 1.2 Receiving reports from the LG Group Programme Board chairs, providing views and challenge;
  - 1.3 Discussing topical cross-cutting issues impacting on local government to ensure effective connections are being made across programme boards.
- 2. The LG Group Councillors' Forum may:
  - 2.1 Receive briefings and hold discussions on topical issues impacting on local government, to ensure members have sufficient information to hold the LG Group to account;
  - 2.2 Request the attendance of external speakers where that supports the Forum in carrying out its role.



15 September 2011

### Item 1

# **Councillors' Forum Meeting Dates 2011-12**

DATE	TIME	Structure	Venue	
Thursday	11.00 – 12.30	Political Groups	As advised in Agenda	
15 September 2011	12.30 - 1.30	Councillors Forum	Westminster Suite	
_	1.30 - 2.00	Lunch	Terrace Lounge	
Thursday	11.00 – 12.30	Political Groups	As advised in Agenda	
13 October 2011	12.30 - 1.30	Councillors Forum	Westminster Suite	
	1.30 - 2.00	Lunch	Terrace Lounge	
Thursday	11.00 – 12.30	Political Groups	As advised in Agenda	
10 November 2011	12.30 - 1.30	Councillors Forum	Westminster Suite	
	1.30 - 2.00	Lunch	Terrace Lounge	
	NO COUNCILLORS' FORUM MEETING IN DECEMBER			
Thursday	11.00 – 12.50		As advised in Agenda	
12 January 2012	12.30 – 1.30	Councillors Forum	Westminster Suite	
	1.30 - 2.00	Lunch	Terrace Lounge	
Thursday	11.00 – 12.30		As advised in Agenda	
9 February 2012	12.30 – 1.30	Councillors Forum	Westminster Suite	
	1.30 - 2.00	Lunch	Terrace Lounge	
Thursday	11.00 – 12.30	Political Groups	As advised in Agenda	
15 March 2012	12.30 – 1.30		Westminster Suite	
	1.30 - 2.00	Lunch	Terrace Lounge	
<b>-</b>	NO APRIL MEETINGS			
Thursday	11.00 – 12.30	Political Groups	As advised in Agenda	
17 May 2012	12.30 – 1.30	Councillors Forum	Westminster Suite	
	1.30 - 2.00	Lunch	Terrace Lounge	
Thursday	11.00 – 12.30	Political Groups	As advised in Agenda	
14 June 2012	12.30 – 1.30	Councillors Forum	Westminster Suite	
	1.30 - 2.00	Lunch	Terrace Lounge	
Thursday	11.00 – 12.30	Political Groups	As advised in Agenda	
12 July 2012	12.30 – 1.30	Councillors Forum	Westminster Suite	
	1.30 - 2.00	Lunch	Terrace Lounge	

The LG Group Executive will meet on the above dates at 2.15pm in the Westminster Suite.